Nutella Swirled Banana Layered Cake with Nutella Buttercream and Vanilla Pastry Cream

IMG_9315
This is a hefty cake, my friends! But let me just say, it is so worth the time! I think it literally weighs like 10 lbs.
I made this for my best friend’s 20th birthday! With the help of my sous chef/lil’ sister, we made this is about 5 hrs. Not too bad right?

Here’s what we got (from bottom to top) – sorry I was too excited to assemble the cake that I forgot to take pictures *_*:
1) Nutella Banana Cake
2) Nutella Buttercream
3) Nutella Banana Cake
4) Vanilla Pastry Cream
5) Nutella Banana Cake
6) Nutella Buttercream
Frosted entirely with more nutella buttercream, coated with toasted hazelnuts, and decorated with Ferrero Rocher chocolates!
This is a special cake for someone special in your life. AND, if you don’t feel like making the entire cake, then I recommend just making the nutella banana cake, because that is amazing by itself.
Some extra tools that may be useful are a 1) rotating cake stand 2) angled icing spatula & a 3) pastry bag. The tip I used was a giant tip 1A. But you could virtually use anything you would like. Get those creative juices flowing!
IMG_9124 IMG_9129 IMG_9126 IMG_9130 IMG_9134 IMG_9135 IMG_9321 IMG_9317 IMG_9324
Recipe for the Nutella Swirled Banana Cake (adapted from: Two Peas and their Pod)
ingredients:

For the cake:

4 cups cake flour (you can also use AP Flour)
2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
2.5 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs
2 cup plain Greek yogurt (I used Chobani 0%)
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 ripe bananas, peeled and mashed (to equal 1 cup)
about 1 cup Nutella

For the Nutella Cream Cheese Buttercream (adapted from Wicked Good Kitchen):

2 cups unsalted butter, softened

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 cup Nutella Hazelnut Spread
4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
8 tablespoons sifted cocoa powder
7-8 cups confectioners’ sugar, spooned in cup, leveled off & sifted
For the Vanilla Pastry Cream (from: All Recipes)
2 cups milk
1/4 cup sugar
2 egg yolk + 1 egg
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/3 cup sugar
2 tbls butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
Decorations:
1-2 cups of toasted hazelnuts, skinned
8-10 Ferrero Rochers
directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2- 8 inch pans with foil and grease the foil. Set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until creamy and smooth, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the yogurt and vanilla extract. Mix in the mashed bananas.

4. Gradually add the dry ingredients and mix until flour disappears. Spread cake batter evenly into the prepared pan. Swirl the Nutella into the cake using a knife of toothpick.

5. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow cake to cool completely.

6. Next, make your pastry cream. In a heavy saucepan, stir together the milk and 1/4 cup of sugar. Bring to a boil over medium heat.

7. In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and egg. Stir together the remaining sugar and cornstarch; then stir them into the egg until smooth. When the milk comes to a boil, drizzle it into the bowl in a thin stream while mixing so that you do not cook the eggs. Return the mixture to the saucepan, and slowly bring to a boil, stirring constantly so the eggs don’ t curdle or scorch on the bottom.

8. When the mixture comes to a boil and thickens, remove from the heat. Stir in the butter and vanilla, mixing until the butter is completely blended in. Pour into a heat-proof container and place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface to prevent a skin from forming. Refrigerate until chilled before using.

9. To make your Nutella buttercream. Using an electric stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment, or handheld mixer and large bowl, beat butter on medium speed until creamy. Add cream cheese, Nutella and vanilla; beat until fully incorporated.

10. Gradually increase mixer speed to high and continue beating until light and fluffy, scraping down the sides of bowl as necessary with rubber spatula.

11. Gradually add cocoa and 3½ cups confectioners’ sugar, beating on low speed (stir), until well combined. Add additional confectioners’ sugar until desired consistency for spreading and level of sweetness is reached. Beat on high speed until well combined and smooth while scraping down sides of bowl as necessary, about 1 to 2 minutes. Before frosting cake layers, rebeat buttercream to ensure smoothness.

12. Next skin and toast your hazelnuts. If using whole hazelnuts, use a blender to chop the hazelnuts into fine pieces, but not too fine! You don’t want hazelnut meal. This is a great video for how to Skin and Toast Hazelnuts.
13. The final step is assembly.
14. Once your cake layers have completely cooled, use a serrated knife and cut each layer in half, to make 4 layers.
15. Then, take the first layer, frost the top with about 1/4 inch thick of buttercream (or however much you’d like!) Add next layer of cake, then use your pastry bag and make a ring of buttercream around the outside of the cake. This acts as a barrier to prevent the pastry cream from oozing out of the sides. Take cooled pastry cream and stir again to get it to be creamy. Then put pastry cream into the center of the ring. Add next layer of cake. Then frost again with about 1/4 inch of buttercream. Place last cake layer on top.
16. Trim the edges of the cake to get an even outer surface.
17. Frost with a good amount of buttercream, making sure it is even all around. It doesn’t have to be perfect! You’ll be covering up a lot of your mistakes with the hazelnuts :). Lastly cover the sides with loads of hazelnuts. Decorate as you wish! I added 9 swirls of buttercream and placed a chocolate on top of each swirl.
18. Refrigerate the cake, and let it stand at room temp for about 15-20 minutes before serving.
Philippians 1- Relationships rooted in the Gospel 
Thanksgiving and Prayer
3 I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, 4 always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, 5 because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. 6 And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. 7 It is right for me to feel this way about you all, because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel. 8 For God is my witness, how I yearn for you all with the affection of Christ Jesus. 9 And it is my prayer that your love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, 10 so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, 11 filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.
The Advance of the Gospel
12 I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel,13 so that it has become known throughout the whole imperial guard and to all the rest that my imprisonment is for Christ. 14 And most of the brothers, having become confident in the Lord by my imprisonment, are much more bold to speak the word without fear.
15 Some indeed preach Christ from envy and rivalry, but others from good will. 16 The latter do it out of love,knowing that I am put here for the defense of the gospel. 17 The former proclaim Christ out of selfish ambition, not sincerely but thinking to afflict me in my imprisonment. 18 What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice.
To Live Is Christ
Yes, and I will rejoice, 19 for I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, 20 as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. 21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. 22 If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. 23 I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. 24 But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. 25 Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith, 26 so that in me you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again.
27 Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel, 28 and not frightened in anything by your opponents. This is a clear sign to them of their destruction, but of your salvation, and that from God. 29 For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake, 30 engaged in the same conflict that you saw I had and now hear that I still have.
Leave a Reply

