Apple Cinnamon Streusel Muffins

Image

Thursdays are my favorite. Usually because there’s no class! Yea, yea, so they’re like babying us as 1st years, but I’m still dying! I feel like I’m always so lost in lab, and I really suck at everything, so that’s really what makes the first year hard. Anyways, I woke up and felt like baking. That is, after I spent time with the Lord. I started reading the entire Bible last year, and once it got to summer, things just went haywire. So here I am again…and this time I wanna commit to it fully! This morning I read Psalm 111. A psalm that acknowledges and rejoices in the LORD. See below for more!

But back to the muffins! So I usually don’t like fruit in my baked goods…but these are an exception! The apples and cinnamon blend together perfectly, and the streusel on top is just an added bonus. The secret ingredient (which is not-so-secret anymore) is Greek yogurt which I think makes every muffin/bread so much moister, without all the fat. IMG_1739IMG_1740IMG_1743IMG_1744

IMG_1747

IMG_1746IMG_1750IMG_1753IMG_1756

IMG_1763For the muffins:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup Greek Yogurt (plain)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups finely chopped apples

For the streusel:

  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp cold butter

– Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line 12 muffin tins with paper liners.
– In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, and salt.
– In the bowl of an electric mixture on medium speed, beat together butter, sugar, and eggs until light and fluffy. Reduce speed add in greek yogurt, and mix in vanilla.
– With a spatula, stir in apples to the butter/sugar mixture. Then, gradually fold in the flour mixture.
– Divide the batter among the liners.
– For the streusel, mix together brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a small bowl. Cube butter and cut into the mixture until it is the consistency of bread crumbs. Sprinkle over the muffin batter.
– Bake at 425 for 5 minutes. It gives the muffin a boost! Then for 15 minutes bake at 375, or until cake tester comes out clean.
– Once done, allow to cool 5 minutes in the pan, then complete cooling on a wire rack.

Recipe yields 12 muffins

Adapted from Erica’s Sweet Tooth

________________________________________________________

It was refreshing just to read it and remind myself of who my God really is…majestic, all-powerful, gracious, just, merciful….

PSALM 111

Praise the Lord!
I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart,
in the company of the upright, in the congregation.
2 Great are the works of the Lord,
studied by all who delight in them.
3 Full of splendor and majesty is his work,
and his righteousness endures forever.
4 He has caused his wondrous works to be remembered;
the Lord is gracious and merciful.
5 He provides food for those who fear him;
he remembers his covenant forever.
6 He has shown his people the power of his works,
in giving them the inheritance of the nations.
7 The works of his hands are faithful and just;
all his precepts are trustworthy;
8 they are established forever and ever,
to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness.
9 He sent redemption to his people;
he has commanded his covenant forever.
Holy and awesome is his name!
10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom;
all those who practice it have a good understanding.
His praise endures forever!

There are so many things we have that we don’t deserve. A lot of times I complain about the silliest things, and it’s terrible to think how selfish and ungrateful I am. We need to be content in every situation! I find myself needing to hear this daily because I am distracted so easily by my immediate circumstances.  Isn’t the quote below so true?

If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.

Leave a Reply

