Green Tea Pistachio Cookies

IMG_1835

I bring you a recipe that you should definitely try. Because who doesn’t love green tea and who doesn’t love pistachios? When you combine the two, my goodness, it will be heaven in your mouth! The cookies are dense and chewy, and perfectly balanced between nutty and tea-ish (made that word up).

IMG_1821 IMG_1823IMG_1825IMG_1826

IMG_1839 IMG_1831 IMG_1832 IMG_1830 IMG_1829 IMG_1828

Green Tea Pistachio Cookies

ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 tbls green tea powder
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup unsalted pistachios

directions:

Preheat oven to 325°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silpats. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and green tea powder.

In a stand mixer, beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla extract.

Add flour mixture, mixing until completely combined. Stir in white chocolate chips and pistachio nuts until evenly distributed.

Scoop 3 tbls of dough on cookie tray, about  1.5 inches apart. Make sure to press down the tops a bit.

Bake for 12 minutes, or until the edges are very slightly browned. The cookies will not look cooked in the center, but they will finish cooking while cooling on cookie sheet!

Remove from oven and let cookies rest on baking sheet for 10 minutes. Then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to 7 days.

Adapted from The Novice Chef

—-Reflections—-

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age, waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for himself a people for his own possession who are zealous for good works. {Titus 2:11-14}

It’s been awhile, and quite frankly, it’s just because I’ve been super busy! Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not usually the type to go out like every day. It’s kind of a scary thought for me…why? Probably because I’m an introvert…and I think college made that even worse for me. I would literally study every day, and I was okay with sweatpants, chilling with no makeup on, alongside all my textbooks. I know, sad, right? Well, here I am, in grad school, and I feel like I’ve been having too much fun. My excuse..well I am making up for the lack of fun I had in college. :p That’s a pretty good excuse, right? By fun, I mean, going to have lunch with a church friend, and hearing how God has been working in their lives, or going to grab coffee with another to encourage them in their struggles. Fun for me means eating, baking, going to cute cafes, and going to the beach!  And let me just say, USC football games are unlike any other…the spirit of this school is unsurpassable, and I love that. I enjoy these kinds of things so much, and it’s awesome to have that community. God truly provides when we come to Him in prayer. But there’s a time for everything, so the next couple of weeks I will be forced to make friends with my textbooks again :(.

At the same time, I also feel like God has been calling me to seek and save the lost. Yes, we need to fellowship with like-minded, with believers, and it even says in the Bible (1 Corinthians 15:33) that “bad company ruins good morals.” So what’s the deal then? Well for one thing, we need to be strongly rooted in the Lord to be able to withstand the temptations from the devil. We can’t totally isolate ourselves from non-believers because then it ruins our entire purpose in life, which is to proclaim how Jesus Christ, the Son of God, died on the cross for each and every one of our sins! What a waste our life would be! Okay it sounds super weird but I just can’t keep thinking about a sermon I once watched online by Francis Chan where he said something along the lines of this: “What will happen if you get to the gates of heaven, and you see your best friend, uncle, classmate, standing there. And you know that they never believed in Jesus. How would it feel if they said to you “Why didn’t you tell me about Jesus? Why weren’t you more persistent? Why didn’t your life reflect the gospel? Why didn’t you save me from an eternity in hell?” That would be the worst feeling ever. There should be a sense of urgency in our lives, every single day, that pushes us to win people over to Christ. Just being out and about in LA and on campus has also shown me how broken this world is. It shows how desperately we all need God and how amazing it is that the Creator of this universe would sacrifice His only Son to die for us, a rebellious people. I’ll be frank with you and tell you that I’m not the boldest person out there. In fact, I’m pretty cowardly. It’s hard for me to tell others about Jesus, and I really don’t know why. It is the best and most important thing in my life. And I’ve been confessing and pleading to God for courage in this matter, knowing that He will equip me one day. It’s kind of going to be baby steps for me. For example, when I see people I can tell are broken from life, I have started by just praying for them. “Jesus, show them, somehow and somewhere, who you are.” Pretty soon, I want to be able to talk to them, and hear their story.

The book of Titus, if you have never read it, is slowly becoming one of my favorite books. It practically has the entire gospel in it, plus so many applications for living as Christians. I encourage you to read through it when you get a chance because it really puts our life into focus. We were once “disobedient..slaves to various passions and pleasures.” But this is no longer only because of the “goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior..whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ.” Sorry to sound super preachy right now, but I am so so so passionate about this..the Gospel. The Gospel is what we live by and what we live for. I admit my lack of living out the Gospel every single day and it is something I struggle with and strive to reach every day. Living out the Gospel means “renouncing ungodliness and worldly passions”…this could be even good things like school or family or your significant other! We are to “live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age.” For one, it’s as simple as watching the words that come out of your mouth. I have talked about this before, but if you are a believer in Christ, and you claim to be so, then what are you doing cursing? It’s literally the ONE thing that could set you apart from non-believers, instantly! (See James 1:26; and James 3:1-12). The tongue is the one thing we definitely have complete control over, and it’s sad to see how easily we are influenced by the world. Yes that means we may be ridiculed or put down for being too “Christian-y”, “judgmental”, or “boring”. But, get this, every time you do renounce ungodliness, it is a victory for Christ. That is so much more worth the approval of man by any means. Trust me.

Remind them to be submissive to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good work, to speak evil of no one, to avoid quarreling, to be gentle, and to show perfect courtesy toward all people. For we ourselves were once foolish, disobedient, led astray, slaves to various passions and pleasures, passing our days in malice and envy, hated by others and hating one another. But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life. The saying is trustworthy, and I want you to insist on these things, so that those who have believed in God may be careful to devote themselves to good works. These things are excellent and profitable for people. But avoid foolish controversies, genealogies, dissensions, and quarrels about the law, for they are unprofitable and worthless. As for a person who stirs up division, after warning him once and then twice, have nothing more to do with him, knowing that such a person is warped and sinful; he is self-condemned. {Titus 3:1-11}
Leave a Reply

